28 days of writing – day 5

Peer feedback using SOLO rubric

As much as I find it frustrating, writing is an integral part of the NCEA PE course at my school. (Which is quite ironic as I am challenging myself to 28 days of writing!) So my first real “work” for my class this year was to write a paragraph with a video as a stimulus. Once they were finished we discussed the key concepts and then I asked them to peer assess the paragraphs using a simple SOLO rubric. Most found it easy to identify where their partners work was at and could also identify next steps. I can see me using this regularly for peer, self and teacher feedback. I am passionate about the use of SOLO taxonomy (thanks @arti_choke) and keep finding ways to incorporate it in my teaching and learning. This was a great example as it fufills many of the key requirements of effective feedback too 😀

IMG_1030

Leave a Reply

