28 Days of writing -day 2

Almost forgot, and it’s only day 2! So as I mentioned yesterday making connections is key in my goals for this year. In the past being part time meant for me there was a bit of a disconnect with staff and students, almost like watching something from the sidelines. Last year I was lucky enough to be part of a new programme at my school for year 10 students where we combined elements of health, outdoor ed and duke of ed into an existing program called rite journey. We had the time to get to know students, and make real connections. It’s been great to see these girls at the start of this year, chat with them again. This year I want to extend my connections – and one place to do this is my tutor group. The first valuable step in this was three way interviews which was another new iniative. Now I know some of the dreams, goals, commitments and concerns of my students and their parents and can work with them to control the pressure points in their busy years. My goal is to develop the pastoral aspect of my teaching day – something that hasn’t been a strength in the past.

Leave a Reply

